WIP – Baby Quilt

DSC00270

 

This is the top of the baby quilt that I am working on for my niece MIchelle who is expecting a baby boy sometime in December.  (Oh…that’s this month!)  I used “Baby Makes 3″ pattern.  You are supposed to use 3 fabrics.  I picked 3 colors (blue, green, and white) and cut pieces from my stash.  I found green 2 1/2″ strips already cut  and used them for the first border. I had just enough of a dark blue background with some fish to use for the outside border.  It took ALOT of piecing for the back.  It is now machine quilted.  I used a green variegated thread to straight stitch about a 1/4″ away from both sides of the long vertical and horizontal seams.  I picked up some tips from a Craftsy class “Creative Quilting with Your Walking Foot” with Jacquie Gering. The first tip is that “It’s a WALKING foot, not a running foot.”

I am working on the binding now.

And yes, I know, the quilt is pictured upside down, but the picture would look more stupid if the ironing board was upside down.

Leave a Reply

