Works in Progress – Afghans & Quilts

DSC00254   DSC00253

First up is an afghan that I am knitting for a nephew.  It was supposed to be for his high school graduation.  He is in his 2nd or 3rd year of college.  It will be for his college graduation.  I only need to knit 12 more rows and weave in all the ends.

The second picture shows 3 quilts that are in various stages of completion.  The “Teresa” box holds a snowball quilt top from the 30’s (?) that I will layer, baste, quilt, and bind to turn into a completed quilt.

The “Jonathan” box holds 12-14 monkey wrench quilt blocks.  I need to make some more blocks to make a full size quilt.  I will probably use sashing strips and corner blocks to make it bigger.  Jonathan used a monkey wrench quilt from my grandmother and really liked the pattern and wanted one for himself.  He suggested fabrics that reminded him of wearing a business suit.  A fabric to represent a shirt, a tie, and the suit itself.  It is coming out well.  This will be Jonathan’s college graduation present.  He just finished his last class. Yeah!

The bottom quilt box is in remembrance of my dad.  I started this in a class 2 years ago.  The blocks are all done and some of them are sewed together.  The fabrics are prints for the US Navy, tools, bowling, and baseball. My sister Teresa and I work on this when we go to the Sewing & Quilt Expo in Fredricksburg.  I bring one of my sewing machines and sew the blocks together while Teresa does the pressing.  Hopefully, we can have the top completely pieced this year.

We also want to make one to remember our mother.  I have a good size box full of cat fabric.

There is also a box full of fabric for a “Scary Monster” quilt.  I got that pattern from http://www.shinyhappyworld.com.  It will be my first applique quilt.

I also have some sewing works in progress.  That’s another post I think.

Leave a Reply

